Customer Reviews for Carolina Mattress Guild Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sleepy's.

Carolina Mattress Guild Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress

Feel the plush comfort of a Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress. Buy this mattress online in twin through California king size for a great deal on a bed.

Proudly Made in America, this plush mattress is covered in a luxurious stretch knit fabric made from Bamboo fibers. The bamboo yarn in our ticking is made from 100% natural bamboo pulp fiber. These are extremely soft fibers that are naturally anti-bacterial, anti-fungal, and are non-allergenic. This makes it an excellent sleep surface for allergy sufferers. Bamboo fibers have excellent ventilation and moisture absorption qualities, so it stays cool, dry and fresh for the life of the mattress. Silk and Wool fibers are also featured in the quilt which will naturally assist you with sleep temperature regulation and sleep moisture. High Density surface quilt foams will cushion and support every part of your body, improving circulation at the shoulders, arms and hips while resisting body impressions.

This mattress features a high density laminated full foam encasement that offers a superior perimeter edge support, extending the life of the mattress and allowing the sleeper to sleep up to the edge of the mattress with no roll off. The FR fiber in the quilt has cotton fibers which are treated with vegetable oil containing Boron (one of Earth's 109 natural elements), to give the fiber fire retardant properties

 

Main Features

  • No flip construction
  • Natural Fire Resistant Quilt Fiber
  • Luxurious Soft Stretch Knit Ticking made from Bamboo fibers
  • Anti-Bacterial, Anti-Fungal, and Non-Allergenic
  • 416 coil - 13 gauge
  • High Density Laminated Foam Encasement
  • Silk and Wool luxury Fibers in the Quilt
  • Hybrid Soy Foams

 

Mattress and Foundation Height

  • Mattress Height: 13"
  • Standard Foundation Height: 9”
  • Low Profile Foundation Height: 5”

 

Warranty

  • 15 Year Non Prorated

 

Size Information

 

Twin 39" x 75" 240 Coils
Twin XL 39" x 80" 260 Coils
Full 54" x 75" 336 Coils

Queen

60" x 80" 416 Coils
King 76" x 80" 520 Coils
Cal King 72" x 84" 486 Coils

  

Average Customer Rating:
3.871 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
47 out of 62(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Review 1 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit softer than expected
Softer than expected
Date:December 24, 2013
Reviewed by kreagen
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for stomach sleepers, High quality
the bed is very comfortable . I enjoy going to bed now because of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Firmer than expected
Softer than expected
Date:December 16, 2013
Reviewed by innocentsmom
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Great value
Cons: Firmer than expected, Bad for side sleepers
Tends to roll you to the center of the bed. Not great for side sleepers. But its a great value mattress.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Worth the price I paid for..

Date:November 22, 2013
Reviewed by amk411
from Cherry Hill, NJ
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Great value, Good for back sleepers, High quality
We bought queen sized mattress from Sleepys in Cherry Hill NJ. It was just right for us from both comfort and budget point of view.
We were looking for mattress that is neither soft nor too firm. This one is perfect choice for me and my wife.
Also the sales representative was very friendly and explained different options and suggested best one that fits our budget.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Much firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Best purchase

Date:November 4, 2013
Reviewed by Janylovepr
from Maryland
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for back sleepers, High quality, Supportive
With a lumbar herniated disk with this mattress I can sleep in my back comfortable without the pain and discomfort. I love this mattress.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Satisfied

Date:October 22, 2013
Reviewed by Crow
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Great value, High quality, Supportive
Cons: Firmer than expected
Mattress is ver comfortable, good quality, and is fully compatible with adjustable base. Perhaps not quite as comfy as tempurpedic, but much better value. Overall, quite satusfied.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected
Date:October 13, 2013
Reviewed by etrujillo31896
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: High quality, Supportive
I love my new mattress. Its perfect and it fits in my room perfectly. It wasn't easy for me to take a pic since I was debating if I really needed to purchase a bed. But thank God I made up my mind to do so. The price was O.K. but it is worth it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Mattress

Date:October 8, 2013
Reviewed by amanda123456789
from walpole, ma
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Great value, Good for stomach sleepers
Cons: Firmer than expected
The mattress is a good mattress, its a little firmer than i expected
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected
Date:October 1, 2013
Reviewed by mishyk6
from Nanuet, NY
Purchased forChildrens bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers
I was alittle worried after reading the reviews, they're alittle mixed! Needless to say where very happy with our new purchase. The mattress is perfect not to soft and not to firm. The only downfall is its very high!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Supportive and Comfortable

Date:September 28, 2013
Reviewed by ldmu
from New England
Purchased forChildrens bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for stomach sleepers, High quality, Supportive
Cons: Firmer than expected, Bad for back sleepers
Although firmer than expected, this bed is comfortable and it provides great support.
This bed does not retain the heat like pillow top beds. We returned a pillow top bed because it was too soft, did not seem to provide support and was very hot to sleep on it.
This bed is supportive and firm without being uncomfortable.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Mattress

Date:September 6, 2013
Reviewed by gounu
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Great value, High quality
Solid purchase. Our salesman was knowledgeable, educated and knew the various options that would satiate our needs. It was our first time visiting a Sleepys, and we would recommend this brand to our other friends when their searches require a new mattress. Truly a very good experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Eco Conscious

Date:September 3, 2013
Reviewed by DarlingDRE
from Boston, MA
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value
We don't roll together in the center! This has been a great purchase. We got it on sale and it's been good for side sleeping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit softer than expected
Softer than expected

Good but overpriced

Date:August 11, 2013
Reviewed by luisfe84
from Durham, NC
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for stomach sleepers, High quality
Cons: Poor value, Softer than expected
A little bit overpriced but a good soft and nice matress.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Love it!!

Date:July 31, 2013
Reviewed by Mommafeelsgreatnow
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for back sleepers, Good for stomach sleepers, High quality, Supportive
We love the bed. Both of us are sleeping so much better and have more energy during the day.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Much firmer than expected
Softer than expected

WAY TOO HARD - NOT LIKE COMFORTABLE SHOWROOM MODEL

Date:June 30, 2013
Reviewed by MattressMan
from NEW JERSEY
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Supportive
Cons: Firmer than expected, Bad for back sleepers, Bad for side sleepers, Bad for stomach sleepers
After shopping at four different stores for mattresses, I finally found the perfect one — a mattress I just KNEW was superb the moment I tried it. It was the Carolina Radiant Plush model. It felt so comfortable whether I was lying on my back or side, and even though it was soft and comfortable it also felt supportive in a non-intrusive way. I was the “scout” for the mattress, so when I found it, I asked my wife to try it as well. So she drove with me to the store and really loved it as well. We immediately ordered the Carolina with a feeling of confidence and excitement.
But just to be on the safe side, I checked the reviews for the mattress on the Sleepy’s website when I got home and was stunned by what I read. Review after review reported that the mattress was far harder than the one in the showroom. The consistency of these reviews concerned me, so I called the Carolina Mattress Guild company at the number listed on their website. I wanted to see what they had to say on the matter. Their outgoing message said that if you’re a consumer, you need to reach them through their website. I was hoping to speak with someone “live,” however, so I pressed "O" for the operator. She told me that there is no one at the company to speak with consumers, but when I mentioned that it made me leery of buying one of their beds, she was nice enough to tell me that she had never heard of the problem I told her about (from the Sleepy’s website) and that a mattress is bound to feel a little more firm when one receives it new since it has not been laid on like the store demo has. So, with a measure of reassurance, my wife and I decided to take our chances and kept our order placed with Sleepy’s.
Unfortunately, when the delivery came, the bed was everything the reviews reported: VERY firm, and not at all comfortable like the showroom model. Not at all. My wife and I immediately knew it was not a mere “break-in” issue we’d have to wait-out, so I called our local Sleepy’s and they graciously offered to exchange the bed as a “Comfort Exchange.” I hustled down to the store and opted for a different bed from a different manufacturer. And though the salesman was a really nice guy and did all he could to spare me from having to pay a new shipping charge, he was unable to spare me the $100 cost. And let me pass on a word of forewarning: From what I was told, Sleepy’s is now amending their “Comfort Exchange” policy to add a $125 disposal charge (for the bed being returned) on top of the additional $100 delivery charge (for the new bed being delivered).
What’s particularly strange about the entire situation is this: Even though SO many of us are experiencing the same problem with the Carolina mattresses we receive, the two Sleepy’s salespeople I spoke with said they had NEVER heard the complaint I raised nor were they aware of the bad reviews for the mattress on their website. And they both seemed very sincere. They even pointed out that Sleepy’s would never keep a mattress in their lineup that continued to be a problem since it would mean they’d have to deal with return after return. So I have to admit, I’m mystified by all this, but I’m still glad to be returning the Carolina mattress.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Softer than expected
Softer than expected

Made in America AND green!

Date:June 30, 2013
Reviewed by KB1818
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: High quality
I really like how this mattress is made in America and green. Was a big selling point for me. I wish I had forgone the box spring for a bed with slates, that's the way it was displayed and was a lot softer. Still pretty plush. Hope it holds up over the years!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Much firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Just like everyone else said, IT'S HARD AS A ROCK!

Date:June 10, 2013
Reviewed by TheGroover
from New York, NY
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Supportive
Cons: Firmer than expected, Bad for stomach sleepers, Bad for side sleepers
I was used to sleeping on a nice soft mattress for more than 10 years, but when I recently moved I felt it was time to upgrade to a Queen-size bed, so I went out in search of a "plush" bed similar to the last one I had. Like everyone else on this forum has said, the Carolina Radiant Plush felt great in the showroom -- just soft enough with some "give" for a stomach sleeper like myself, but also providing support.
However, when it was delivered, I immediately tried it out and knew instantly that this was a FIRM mattress. It felt like there was about an inch of cotton on the top and then it hits a very firm rock. I'm a stomach sleeper, and there was no "give" at all -- it was as if it was pressing up against my abdomen. It felt nothing like what I tried out in the store.
Friends told me that it needs to "break in" - but after 5 weeks of having it, I was still waking up with a sore back and legs. If you like a firm bed, then this would be a good choice. But if you're used to a soft bed, it is a bad choice.
The Carolina mattress seems well-made, but it's just very different from what I tried in the store.
I exchanged it for a Sealy pillow-top, and so far I'm happy with my exchange.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Much firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Hard as a rock - totally different from showroom

Date:May 28, 2013
Reviewed by Celia
from MA
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Cons: Firmer than expected, Bad for side sleepers
I knew within 30 seconds of lying down that this bed was super firm and not at all what it felt like during tests in the showroom. I wanted a bed that was soft but gave some support. Based on testing in the showroom this bed fit the bill. But after one night on this new bed I woke up with a sore shoulder and hip. This bed will be going back. I will be sleeping on my couch until I get a new bed to replace this one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Much firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Not what I expected.

Date:May 17, 2013
Reviewed by BlueDiamond
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Cons: Firmer than expected, Not supportive, Poor value, Bad for back sleepers, Bad for stomach sleepers, Bad for side sleepers
I was very excited when purchasing this mattress because it seemed extremely comfortable when I tried it at the show room. I was debating between this mattress and the pillow top however the pillow top seemed as it would be too soft so I decided to go with this mattress. When I received it, I was so upset because it felt SO firm!!!! I decided to give it some time being that it was new and it had to be broken in. After the first night, i woke up with back pain. It is now 5 months later and I still continue to wake up with aches and pains. I'm sad to say that this was not a good purchase. I should have spent the extra money and went with a better mattress. :(
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Much firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Not what I expected

Date:May 6, 2013
Reviewed by sara1234
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Cons: Firmer than expected, Not supportive, Bad for side sleepers
Mattress comes much firmer than in the store model. If you are used to a softer mattress I wouldn't recommend this one. Also it seems like it would need to be broken in a lot to even be considered decent.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carolina Radiant Plush Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Nice bed

Date:April 28, 2013
Reviewed by muzzy33
from Hazleton, Pa
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Supportive
I recently purchased this Carolina mattress ... I needed something with support and the salesman recommended this bed ... and it's great.. I'm also an allergy sufferer so the Bamboo fiber feature is perfect.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>