Customer Reviews for ComforPedic Phenom by Simmons Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sleepy's.

ComforPedic Phenom by Simmons Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress

Delight in the support of our Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress. The memory foam offers an unequalled comfortable night's sleep.

The Simmons® Comforpedic® Phenom™ Luxury Plush is the softest feeling mattress in this exclusive Sleepy’s collection. For a look and feel like no other, these mattresses combine luxury and innovation for the perfect night’s sleep. With a combination of temperature-sensitive NXG® Memory Foam and Advanced NXG® Memory Foam, these mattresses ensure incredible pressure relief and a comfortable sleeping temperature. The Transflexion foam core requires no break-in period, so you’ll get a cozy, comfortable night’s sleep the very first night! 

 

Main Features

  • Upscale look-with removable cover
  • NXG® Memory Foam and Advanced NXG® Memory Foam developed by expert foam chemists
  • Slow Recovery Latex Foam – Exclusive to Sleepy’s
  • Transflexion® core foam – no break-in period
  • Gradient Edge®  - firm, supportive edge
  • Waterfall Triton® foundation

 

Mattress and Foundation Height

  • Mattress Height: 12"
  • Standard Foundation Height: 9"
  • Low Profile Foundation Height: 5"

 

Warranty

  • 25 years

 

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Review 1 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Much firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Temperature affects the firmness!

Date:January 1, 2013
Reviewed by DoubleD
from Paradise, PA
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for back sleepers, High quality, Supportive
Cons: Firmer than expected
My wife and I were looking for a high quality mattress that provides support with a luxury plush feel. We were replacing an innerspring pillow top that was like sleeping on a cloud but after a few years there just was not enough support. We expected the Phenom to provide the support while still having a soft feel that was so important to my slender wife who is sensitive to pressure points.
Much to our suprise, the mattress felt MUCH firmer in our home than it did in the store. We gave it some time, thinking we would get used to it, but after consulting with a sales associate discovered that the temperature of our home was a factor. We like a cool bedroom - 63-64 degrees and the memory foam responds differently at that temperature.
We did a comfort exchange and now have a Simmons Beautyrest pillowtop luxury push. We could not be happier with it. The exchange was handled well with no hassle. So if you are considering a Phenom, make sure you take tempurature into account!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Much firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Worst purchase ever

Date:December 7, 2012
Reviewed by NeedsleepII
from NJ
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Supportive
Cons: Firmer than expected, Bad for back sleepers, Bad for stomach sleepers, Bad for side sleepers
Finding a mattress is one of the toughest buying decisions one can make.
My initial experience with Sleep's was good. Last minute I laid on this bed and it felt very nice in the store, a bit firm but comfortable, so I bought it.
I received this bed and for 11 days woke up stiff as a board! I was so upset with my purchase. This bed has been the worst nights sleep ever. Its like laying on plywood. It is definitely not a bed for a fairly slim person.
The only thing that lives up to its name is the fact that you do not feel that you will roll out of the bed when you are at the edge.
I just got my new bed today so we will see about this one....
When I say "supportive" in the Pros section its only because if you need a firm bed that feels like plywood to support your spine this is the one. If you need to sink a bit into the bed to have a correctly adjusted spine this is NOT the bed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Well worth the investment

Date:December 5, 2012
Reviewed by Hooter
from Bel Air, Maryland
Purchased forGuest bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Good for back sleepers, Supportive
I recently was diagnosed with spinal stenosis with accompanying arthritis and bursitis in my hip. I was in so much pain I could barely walk and definitely could not sleep in a conventional flat bed anymore. And the bed I was sleeping in was only two years old and in great condition. I was up all night in pain to the point of tears I hurt so badly. The only minimal relief I could get was to sleep on my reclining sofa and continue to take prescriptions for pain and other medically invasive treatments my doctor prescribed. I decided that it was time to look into a foam bed with an adjustable base. I just happened to be in excruciating pain on the days I began searching so I wasn’t really sure if I had picked the right bed. I literally laid on the showroom beds for hours to find one I thought would be right. However, after receiving the Simmons Phenom Plush I have never slept better. It feels like sleeping on a cloud. I have now been able to sleep through the night and wake up refreshed. In fact, some days I just feel like I could lie there all day. The accompanying adjustable base makes it perfect. I really need the head elevated more so then the feet and I don’t have to sleep with 6 pillows all propped around me anymore. I also purchased two memory foam pillows. With the head elevation and the addition of the memory pillows I can now sleep on my side or back in comfort. Even on the bad hip because the pressure dissipates with the contour of the mattress. I would highly recommend this bed and adjustable base especially to anyone with back, hip or arthritis pain. I feel the cost was a bit pricey. However, this is an investment in my health. With the 25 year warranty, first 10 non prorated this helped make my decision a little easier. The only reason I scored the overall a 4 was because of price. Otherwise the bed receives all 5 stars.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Best mattress - and I'm a tough customer!

Date:November 8, 2012
Reviewed by fussysleeper
from New York, NY
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for back sleepers, High quality, Supportive
I am writing this review after 1.5 years of owning and sleeping on this mattress. I couldn't be happier with it! Unfortunately, my body seems to be very fussy when it comes to what I sleep on. I have neck issues and back issues. The first couple of nights sleeping on the mattress, I remember it feeling a bit firmer than I remembered in the showroom. But then it breaks in and begins to feel perfect. You lay perfectly aligned without 'sinking' but the mattress contours where it needs to, so there are no pressure points. It literally feels like laying on a cloud. I have absolutely no heat build-up issues with this mattress, which is a big issue with Tempurpedic.
Before getting this mattress, I had four other mattresses within a 2 year period to try and replace one that used to be my perfect mattress -- but died from old age.
I can't say enough about this particular version of the comforpedic mattress. Absolutely wonderful, and I am a tough customer!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Great Purchase/ Great Mattress

Date:September 28, 2012
Reviewed by Anonymous
from Chesapeake, VA
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for back sleepers, Good for stomach sleepers, High quality, Supportive
Cons: Firmer than expected
My overall experience at Sleepy's was great. I have being shopping around for over a year to find the right mattress. Finally I found it. The staff was friendly and helpful. I had a preconcieve idea of what type of mattress store Sleepy's was but the experience I had change it. They were professional and willing to serve and satisfy their customer. I would reccommend them to any of my friends.
The mattress is great. I have been sleeing on it for over 23 days. The pain that I use to wake up with in the mornings has gone away, the twisting and turn has also gone because the mattress is so comfortable. Whether you are a side, back or front sleeper you will like it. My wife also like it. I would advise you using a soft pillow with this bed to compliment it, it works better together.
You wont be disappointed if you buy this mattress.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Just what I needed!

Date:September 10, 2012
Reviewed by Anonymous
from Harpers Ferry, WV
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Good for back sleepers, Good for stomach sleepers, High quality, Supportive
This matress is exactly what I needed! I tend to like firmer beds and this is a great fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Beautiful Mattress

Date:August 17, 2012
Reviewed by countess6
from pa
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for back sleepers, High quality, Good for stomach sleepers, Supportive
I am in my young 60's and my mother always swore by Beautyrest. Her family was in the furniture business for 99 years. I bought the Beautyrest because of reputation but also for the look and feel of the mattress. I had pillow tops before and never really liked them. There was no smell at all and the bed is so pretty. I think I will be very happy with my purchase.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Firmer than expected
Softer than expected

personal oasis

Date:July 7, 2012
Reviewed by PhillySleepers
from Philadelphia, PA
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Good for back sleepers, Good for stomach sleepers, High quality, Supportive
Cons: Firmer than expected
My husband and I purchased this mattress set about six months ago from Sleepy's in the Philadelphia area. We originally purchased the mattress with the traditional foundation then upon delivery realized it was much too tall for our bed frame. I would highly recommend going with the low profile foundation, otherwise, or you might need a step ladder to get into bed! Sleepy's insisted that we were required to purchase a mattress protector from them in order to keep our warranty valid. We did so, but I will say that it definitely impacts the way the memory foam feels. The protector prevents the bed from forming to you the way it does when you're lying on it without the protector. However, after our cat had an accident on the bed we were mighty glad we purchased it! My husband and I were fortunate to have purchased a mattress that was on clearance and saved about 50% and the total cost. I do not think we would have chosen this mattress set if it had been full price but that was more about our budget and less about the quality of this terrific mattress set!!!
In short, this set provides the best sleep we have ever had!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected
Date:March 9, 2012
Reviewed by tommyfano
from no. providence r.i.
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, High quality, Supportive
after sleeping on a simmons beauterest for the last ten years it began to fail, great mattress for quite some time, shopped around and compared simmons nxg mattress which was very nice, but chose the simmons phenom at sleepys so glad we did, haven't slept this sound in 20 years. this mattress is the bomb.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected
Date:February 19, 2012
Reviewed by SleepyK9
from Stafford,VA
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers
We bought this mattress to sleep better. So far so good. We hope it continues to feel as comfortable as it does today. Hopefully we wont wake up as many backaches as before we made this purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Much softer than expected
Softer than expected

Not a keeper for a sleeper

Date:January 19, 2012
Reviewed by Nonsleepingbeauty
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Cons: Not supportive, Low quality, Poor value, Softer than expected, Bad for back sleepers
Bought this mattress less than 1 year ago. Last 3 months have seen a remarkable breakdown of this mattresses ability to support you. After 6 hours maximum, you can't stand the back pain. My husband has gone into the guest room to sleep on our old Kingsdown mattress. We were advised that this was a superior memory foam mattress and unfortunately it is not worth half the price. beware of the phony claims of a great warranty, as they will find any reason notto honor it.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Sleep finally

Date:December 8, 2011
Reviewed by QueenandKing
from CT
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for back sleepers, Supportive
This is our third bed in six years and the first purchased at Sleepy's. Its been three weeks and so far my husband(the one with trouble sleeping) has loved it! It feels firm as you lay down but molds very gently around you. Also it doesn't sag on the edges which is also nice as we sometimes get pushed to the edge by a little munchkin!! Best of all, no soreness upon wakening!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Sleeping well

Date:November 6, 2011
Reviewed by IMM222
from Warwick, R.I.
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for back sleepers, Good for stomach sleepers, High quality, Supportive
I have had my mattress about 3 months now and I am most comfortable that I have ever been. This purchase was our best choice ever. In our 45 years of marriage we have made many mattress purchases and I can tell you that is is at the top of my choices.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Finally found the Right Bed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date:October 1, 2011
Reviewed by BargainBetty
from Capitol Heights, Maryland
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for back sleepers, High quality, Supportive
We purchased this bed about a month ago and we are very happy with this bed. My husband and I bought a Tempurpedic at first and found out that we did not purchase the right bed for us, the model we chose was too firm. I suffer with a bad back and he suffers with a bad shoulder. It a very good bed for side sleepers, like us.
After purchasing the wrong bed the first time, I wanted to make sure that we purchased the right one the second and final time. I laid on many beds for over 45 days and kept coming back to this one. My back is feeling better in the morning and so is his shoulder. I love the pillows, I wish we would have gotten two more, they are very comfortable. I also purchased the adjustable base. I love sitting up in bed to watch tv or work on the computer. I also love the massage feature of the adjustable. We are very pleased with our purchase and have been telling all our friends and family. I find myself trying to find more time to enjoy my bed more and more. This bed is Phenominal!!!!!! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Sleepy's.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Better than coil mattress

Date:August 16, 2011
Reviewed by Brooklynchele
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Good for back sleepers, High quality
We purchased this mattress set instead of a Tempurpedic which was the original plan. The Tempurpedic felt too soft to us and we felt that it would be difficult to get used to and difficult to get out of bed from. We liked the idea that the mattress would not have coils that would retain body shape and thought that the foam would reduce pressure points.
We have had the mattress about two weeks and are generally happy. The mattress seems to do the job of reducing pressure points (esp. hip and shoulder). Mornings we are both finding that our backs do not hurt as much. Because of the overall comfort, we are sleeping better because we do not have to continually rotate to find a new comfortable spot.
The drawbacks to the mattress seem to be the fact that it doesn't seem to "breathe" that well - meaning that we tend to get hotter at night - and the foam and height of the set make it a bit tricky to get out of bed esp. for me since I am only 5'2".
Otherwise, the mattress set seems to be a good purchase decision. The quality is excellent and we expect to be enjoying the set for many years.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit softer than expected
Softer than expected

Shaky Start to Good Result

Date:June 20, 2011
Reviewed by SleepieHead
from Fredericksburg, VA
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, High quality, Supportive
Cons: Softer than expected
Why a shaky start? After spending about four hours choosing this bed, I then proceeded to change from sleeping on my side to sleeping on my back, which I thought would help my sore back. However, it felt too soft and I was sinking. I actually went so far as to arrange for a replacement, which Sleepy's did without argument or extra cost! Then I discovered that if I would just sleep on my side as I always had, rather than trying to change my sleeping habit, the bed worked very nicely indeed. I found some research that essentially said that people, who sleep on their backs or stomachs are better off with innerspring mattresses that are somewhat firm, and those who sleep on their sides will find better performance with softer beds. In addition, the research said that the spine aligns easier with side sleeping, and that was my goal. So, I went back to sleeping on my side and discovered that the mattress became much more comfortable than when sleeping on my back. After having approached this the wrong way for three weeks, I expect this comfort level to increase with time, and my sore shoulder has already improved a lot. With this good result, I canceled the comfort exchange and avoided the mistake I think I was about to make. The lesson: Choose a mattresses using your natural sleeping position, and then continue that with your new mattress. Don't try to adjust to the bed that you purchased, just sleep your normal way! So, through my error, the start was shaky, but the result is good. Surely, all is well that ends well.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Great Matresss

Date:April 29, 2011
Reviewed by Bijouw
from Phila., PA
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, High quality, Supportive
Had a bad lower back from an accident. We purchased a great spring mattress 8 years ago from sleeepys but was having issues due to the injury for years. Had a tempurpedic from a vacation rental last year. It was time to try and match the sensation again. We tried a dozen mattresses until we picked the Simmons luz plush. Back pain is gone, great deal deal from Sleepys. Great bed, back is back to normal and we love to sleep on this fantastic product. Funny to say, but our 14 year old dog almost passes out when she sleeps on this great product. Very happy with our purchase! Delivery guys were fantastic.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Excellent Mattress

Date:February 7, 2011
Reviewed by qtmama
from PA
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Good for back sleepers, Good for stomach sleepers, High quality, Supportive
My husband and I had a mattress that sagged by morning and we did not want to buy another mattress that will eventually sag. We looked at many mattresses before deciding on the Comforpedic Phenom. We initially looked at this mattress and then continued to look at other brands. However, after several weeks of searching for the best mattress, we decided this mattress was the best mattress on the market. We have had this mattress for over one month now, and we still love it. It has a unique feeling. It is supportive, yet soft. We never wake up feeling like our mattress is sagging. We are very happy with our purchase! If you are able to get the Comforpedic pillows, you will be happy with them too! They are amazing.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit firmer than expected
Softer than expected

very comfortable

Date:December 5, 2010
Reviewed by sphilly
from philadelphia, pa
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Good for back sleepers, Supportive
we really like this mattress. it was a bit more than we wanted to spend, but it is very comfortable and we are happy with it so far. my partner wanted a soft bed and i wanted a firm bed, but this bed somehow makes us both comfortable.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Simmons Comforpedic Phenom Luxury Plush Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!!!

Date:November 27, 2010
Reviewed by OurNewBedofDreams
from Glen Burnie, MD
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for back sleepers, Good for stomach sleepers, High quality, Supportive
In the start of a new marriage came with this bed. It changed our lives! Greatest purchase(besides the house) that we have done together. Our sleep is very important and since we got this bed we make a point to go to bed early now! I found my new love, and it is the Phenom!!!!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>