Customer Reviews for Modus Furniture International The Newport Bed

Modus Furniture International The Newport Bed

Delight in the versatility of The Newport Bed. These contemporary platform beds offer greater durability and support allowing you to get a better night's rest.

The Newport is a contemporary platform bed with a pleasingly simple yet versatile design. Clean lines are crafted from solid Tropical Mahogany, with blocked corners to ensure strength as well as style. The bed features 12 solid wood slats for use with or without a boxspring.

Main Features

  • Constructed from plantation grown Tropical Mahogany solid wood
  • Concealed metal-to-metal bed rail brackets for easy assembly and long term durability
  • Environmentally friendly glues and finishes for reduced formaldehyde emissions
  • Reversible bed rails allow for minor adjustment to mattress height

 

Warranty

  • One Year Warranty

 

 Size Information

Twin

14" H  43" W  79" D

Full

14" H  57" W  79" D

Queen

14" H  63" W  84" D

King

14" H  79" W  84" D

  

Average Customer Rating:
4.042 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
41 out of 48(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Newport Bed
Review 1 for The Newport Bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mind the Gap

Date:August 22, 2014
Reviewed by Emmie
from Burlington, VT
Pros: Great Construction, Great value, Easy to put together, Attractive/Stylish
This is a great platform bed for someone who wants something simple. However, make sure that you have a big pillow to put behind the one you like to sleep on so you don't lose it in the gap it creates between the mattress and the wall. If this is a concern for you, go for the Riva platform bed, same basic idea but with a headboard.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Newport Bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Satisfied!

Date:February 25, 2014
Reviewed by JD13
Pros: Attractive/Stylish, High quality, Great Construction
Great purchase, would highly suggest purchasing from Sleepys, both cheap and great customer service.
The bed itself is great, I am very pleased with both the comfort and appearance of the bed I purchased. The quality of the mattress is top notch and will continue to serve me for years. If I had to buy another mattress in the near future (which I won't, thanks to the great quality of this one), I would definitely buy from Sleepy's again!
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Newport Bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Simple, elegant looking and Value for Money

Date:January 12, 2014
Reviewed by Ayaz
Pros: Great value
If you are some one who likes simplicity and want a great bed for a decent price I would highly recommend this bed. I has an elegant looking wooden finish design. I was happy to get this bed from Sleepy's in a deal with a Mattress and there have been no problems since the time i have bought it.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Newport Bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Bed

Date:December 14, 2013
Reviewed by Monina
from Clayton North Carolina
Pros: Great value, Attractive/Stylish, High quality, Great Construction, Easy to put together
Was fairly easy to assemble, looks great, exactly what I wanted.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Newport Bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2013
Reviewed by Dago
It met our needs for another comfortable guest bed.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Newport Bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2013
Reviewed by durmiente
Pros: Great value
Bought the bed for my aunt and she has been sleeping longer hours since she got the bed.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Newport Bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2013
Reviewed by zxcv
Pros: Great Construction
Bed is well constructed. No problems assembling it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Newport Bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Soft Comfy Bed for my aching joints to enjoy

Date:October 1, 2013
Reviewed by peagardener
from Jericho, VT
Pros: High quality
I wasn't sure about this bed at first. The first several nights I slept on it, my lower back ached. After about a week, that went away.
I generally prefer firm mattresses, but my Love prefers soft and squishy. This was our compromise. It works.
Definitely recommend. For all those people out there who are looking for a compromise mattress that will please both of you - this is it!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Newport Bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No mattress

Date:August 27, 2013
Reviewed by Arman
from Cresskill NJ
Mattress is not included. Made the mistake of not asking first before buying.
-24points
10out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Newport Bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2013
Reviewed by LL200
Pros: Great value, Attractive/Stylish
Cons: Not supportive
Overall, really great bed! Purchased in January 2012... for the last 10 months my boyfriend and I have been sharing this bed (full size.) With both of our weight on the bed, I have not experienced any breaking or cracking thus far! Only negatives I've noticed: the bed tends to shift (I find myself needing to push the bed back against the wall, or reposition it frequently) and, the supports underneath the bed are a bit bent -- most likely from my boyfriend heavily plopping on the bed constantly.
Otherwise, this bed is WELL worth your money. I am planning on getting a new bed soon though, only because I want a higher bed.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Newport Bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice bed

Date:July 17, 2013
Reviewed by LinC61
from Rochester NH
Pros: Attractive/Stylish
I went from a four poster bed to the newport i did not purchase a box spring with my new mattress it is so much easier to get out of bed. I also went to the store because of a add I saw on tv for the 50 % off cool sense mattress add was misleading I thought it was any mattress not the most expensive mattress in store so i ended not getting the serta i wanted got the Gemma instead.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Newport Bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Bed Broke

Date:May 22, 2013
Reviewed by davidm
from Rockville, MD
Pros: Attractive/Stylish, Easy to put together
Cons: Poor Construction, Low quality
Just a few months after purchasing this bed, one of the support legs brokeunder normal use. Then even after the middle slat broke. Sleepy's warranty check of the bed found it defective.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Newport Bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't buy, won't last

Date:May 13, 2013
Reviewed by ambot
Cons: Poor Construction, Not supportive, Low quality, Poor value
We bought this bed around two months ago and the base has already broken. Hopefully Sleepy's will be able to help us with this issue.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Newport Bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Solid bed

Date:April 28, 2013
Reviewed by Glinda2727
from Albany, NY
Pros: Great value, Easy to put together, Attractive/Stylish
The frame is nice and sturdy, but I do recommend all the slats be screwed in, the setup only includes about half the screws. It's enough to put the bed together, but if you want to feel the bed is at it's sturdiest, you will need to supply about 8 of your own screws.
It's much lower than what I am used to, but getting used to it. May look into adding a half-height box spring sometime in the future to bring it up to a height I am more used to.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Newport Bed
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great little bed

Date:April 18, 2013
Reviewed by fittrain
Pros: Great Construction, Great value, Easy to put together, High quality
We bought this bed for our 8 year old who wanted more space, and it has delivered a comfy and roomy experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Newport Bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We Love It!

Date:April 4, 2013
Reviewed by rjilg
from Concord, NH
Pros: Great Construction, Great value, Attractive/Stylish, High quality
Our bedroom is at the top of a winding stair case and the very first thing you see when you hit the top landing. For years you were greeted by frumpy dust ruffle covering the metal frame and box spring of our bed. Yuk.
Now you see a sleek, modern bed that is just beautiful!
Love the look and very much appreciate the gentlemen that installed it for us at no extra charge. They were polite and in and out in no time. Would recommend to all!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Newport Bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2013
Reviewed by CyndiJ
Pros: Great value, Easy to put together
Needed a platform bed due to space restrictions we were unable to get a box spring upstairs. This was a great option for us!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Newport Bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent space saver

Date:March 7, 2013
Reviewed by Kluss0
Pros: Great Construction, Great value, Easy to put together, Attractive/Stylish, High quality
This platform frame saves a lot of space, and provides great support. It also saves a fair amount of money in place of buying a frame, plus a foundation in order to support your new mattress. In a bedroom that has a low eve, there isn't enough room for a bed that is that high, so this piece helps to lower the over all profile.
It fits perfectly in our bedroom, and look great, too.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Newport Bed
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

BADDDD !!

Date:January 25, 2013
Reviewed by dissappointment
from Upper Darby, PA
Pros: Attractive/Stylish
Cons: Poor Construction, Low quality, Poor value
Only 3 months after getting the bed. The piece started falling off.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Newport Bed
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Bed

Date:November 3, 2012
Reviewed by mustang13
from Philadelphia, PA
Pros: Great Construction, Great value, Attractive/Stylish, High quality
I just moved into a house that has a smaller bedroom than I am used to, I saw this bed frame on the floor of the sales room and loved how simple and expensive it looked. I was please to find out it was much cheaper than other places had frames for. It was delivered and put together in less than 30 min. It fits perfectly because of how minimalistic it is and looks modern and clean. I love it. It is also very sturdy and does not make noises when you roll over or move around on you. Great price and great quality!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>