Customer Reviews for Stearns and Foster Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sleepy's.

Stearns and Foster Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress

Have a good night on a Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress. This innerspring mattress offers unmatched support for a firm comfort.

This luxury firm sleep set features a 13.75 gauge twice tempered coil unit with an 825 coil density for the ultimate comfort and support. This model contains our new Variable Response Technology (VRT) High Density Poly Foam, the next generation in pressure relief that offers variable ILD zones without the use of gluing or piecing. The border features luxurious carriage tufting and 8 vertical, warranted handles for maximum convenience.

 

Main Features 

  • No flip mattress design
  • 13.75 gauge twice tempered individually pocketed coil unit with 825 coil density
  • Carriage tufted border
  • 8 vertical warranted handles
  • Silk infused fabric with fleur-de-lis pattern
  • Metal corner guards with 1846 Stearns & Foster logo treatment
  • Variable Response Technology foam layers for maximum pressure relief
  • Full high density foam encasement for superior edge support and durability

 

Mattress and Foundation Height 

  • Mattress Height: 13"
  • Standard Foundation Height: 9”
  • Low Profile Foundation Height: 5”

 

Warranty 

  • 10 years non prorated

 

Size Information

Twin 39"X75" 496 Coils
Twin XL 39"X80" 528 Coils
Full 54"X75" 682 Coils

Queen

60"X80" 825 Coils
King 76"X80" 1056 Coils

 

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
178 out of 190(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Review 1 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Great deal

Date:October 24, 2010
Reviewed by Lugi
from Bronx, NY
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for back sleepers, High quality, Supportive
We needed a new mattress after sleeping on our last one for 13 years. We had to flip our old mattress periodically which was not easy feat. We love the no flip design. We love the double coil springs. Now I don’t wake my wife when I jump into bed at night. We are very happy with our purchase.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit firmer than expected
Softer than expected
Date:December 9, 2011
Reviewed by Kostya
from New York
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: High quality
This is a very good mattress, firm enought and confortable at the same time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Second Sterns & Foster purchased.

Date:December 9, 2011
Reviewed by cmac923
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Good for back sleepers, Good for stomach sleepers, High quality, Supportive
I've had my prior Sterns and Foster for 16 years. So, when it was time to buy another mattress, there was no other choice. My wife and I will sleep on the new one, and the old one will go in the guest bedroom.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected
Date:December 6, 2011
Reviewed by Anonymous
from Baldwin, NY
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for back sleepers, Good for stomach sleepers, High quality, Supportive
I am very happy with this mattress, and I was very happy with my overall expirence at Sleepy's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Got what I expected

Date:December 5, 2011
Reviewed by BrianC
from commack, ny
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for back sleepers, High quality, Good for stomach sleepers, Supportive
Truly looks and feels great! I would recommend it to anyone of my friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Tiff & Joe Mattress

Date:December 3, 2011
Reviewed by Mario
from Franklin Park, NJ
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Good for back sleepers, Good for stomach sleepers, High quality, Supportive
The mattress has the firmness we required, it is just the right size and I can sleep comfortably all night. There is no sluggishness about the mattress and we are very comfortable in sleeping on it. We specifically like that we can turn on the bed without bothering each other as the other stays comfortable and doesn't feel the bumps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Best Choice of a mattress

Date:December 2, 2011
Reviewed by Serenitygal33
from Bronx, Ny
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for back sleepers, Good for stomach sleepers, High quality, Supportive
Even though the mattress was out of my price range I was still please with my choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Much firmer than expected
Softer than expected
Date:November 29, 2011
Reviewed by ajlouni
from new york
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Cons: Firmer than expected
too hard for me, iam changing it to softer one, but after all its good quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Best Bed Ever

Date:November 28, 2011
Reviewed by Jarhead
from New York, NY
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for back sleepers, High quality, Good for stomach sleepers, Supportive
This bed is great. It is great quality and fast delivery. Thanks Sleepy's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Sleeping on a cloud

Date:November 28, 2011
Reviewed by felix12
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Great value, Good for back sleepers, High quality, Supportive
Cons: Firmer than expected
The bed is excellent. You do not need to use any other product pillow topper with this bed. It is firm yet soft. It is a bit firmer then I expected, but know in years to come my back will be thankful. The bed itself is very thick so depending on your bad frame you might want to get a box spring that is thinner than the standard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit firmer than expected
Softer than expected

new mattress purchase

Date:November 21, 2011
Reviewed by 4mybed
from NY, NY
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Great value, High quality, Supportive
Pleased with overall comfort and support. My old mattress needed to replaced and this new mattress is amazingly comfortable and firm; soft on top with the light memory foam and firm support. I highly recommend this mattress
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit firmer than expected
Softer than expected

great mattress.

Date:November 20, 2011
Reviewed by countrygirl
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: High quality, Supportive
Very comfortable mattress. Bought one for our apartment and one for our house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Exceptional Mattress

Date:November 19, 2011
Reviewed by Anonymous
from Madison, NJ
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for back sleepers, High quality, Good for stomach sleepers, Supportive
Unbelievable Comfort!! Fabulous night's sleep! The best money we ever spent! Highly recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit softer than expected
Softer than expected

What's with the two box-springs?

Date:November 16, 2011
Reviewed by Midtowner
from New York, NY
Purchased forMaster bedroom
The top mattress seems pretty firm and comfortable. The problem is with the two bottom box springs, that you feel a lump going down the middle when you lie toward the middle of the bed. We have a California king. This may not happen with smaller beds. If one stays on his/her side of the bed, there isn't much of a problem. Weird!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Great Mattress!!

Date:November 16, 2011
Reviewed by George6
from Dale City
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for back sleepers, High quality, Supportive
My wife and I were having a hard time finding a good mattress. We were both waking up with bad aches all over. Mostly in our backs and have gone through 4 mattresses from other companies in the past 4 years. Prior to that we had our mattress for almost 15 years. Quality of things have just gone down the drain. But we went to Sleepy’s to try another place. We have been so happy. FINALLY a good night sleep and a lot of our pains are going away. We are so happy we finally got a mattress with good quality. Thank you Sleepy’s and our sales man Hassan was wonderful, very patient and helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit firmer than expected
Softer than expected

Good Purchase

Date:November 11, 2011
Reviewed by ANON1
from Boxborough, MA
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Great value, Good for back sleepers, High quality, Supportive
Great mattress at a convenient location for shopping near home.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected
Date:November 7, 2011
Reviewed by Anniebed
from Woodbridge, NJ
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, High quality, Supportive
I love my new bed. it is very comfortable and I get a better night sleep on it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
A bit softer than expected
Softer than expected

Good Mattress

Date:November 6, 2011
Reviewed by Len15
from NYC
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Please with mattress, only complaint: it seems so much thicker than my old one, it has been adjustment when I am sitting on the edge and putting on shoes & shocks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Sterns & Foster

Date:November 1, 2011
Reviewed by jcckmr
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: Good for side sleepers, Great value, Good for back sleepers, High quality, Supportive
Have to say I purchased this mattress as an apeasement to my other half. He likes a very firm mattress and I a softer one. I was happy to see that Sleepy's has a computer monitoring system which shows each person's sleep level. While I initially wanted the dual sleep system - his side/my side, but the cost for us was more than we wanted to pay. The salesman worked with us and we found the Sterns & Foster. I was expecting that I would be the one uncomfortable with our choice - it was more on the firm side than the soft. But, I have to say I really enjoy the mattress and I (we) both wake up w/o the backpain we were experiencing with our old mattress. And, the price was great. I guess he was right this time. :) Would have given it 5 stars except the delivery was botched, but ultimately, it worked out just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stearns and Foster Newgate Luxury Firm Mattress
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mattress feels:
Firmer than expected
Just right!
Softer than expected

Very good purchase

Date:October 31, 2011
Reviewed by Peti
from New York, NY
Purchased forMaster bedroom
Pros: High quality
This mattress feels just right. It is firm yet soft and feels very luxurious. I am a bit concern that it is not flipable and I have never had a mattress like that. I will keep an eye on how it wears but I am confident that it will be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>